An open letter to Nadine Dorries

Dear Ms Dorries

This morning I read a series of letters sent to you regarding uteruses. Some of these I agreed with, others I did not. I would like to add my voice.

I’ve met you a couple of times. Like you, I am a Conservative, although I identify with a different section of the party. Also like you, I am a woman of faith, although from a different branch of the tree.

I have never been pregnant, although I intend to be so in the future. I intend to bring my children up as part of a loving, large extended family. But if I – or any other women – decide that an abortion is right, then it’s my choice. It’s my body, and it’s my potential child. It’s my decision.

You might ask whether I believe that those little cells with that flicker of life is a foetus or a child. My honest answer is that I don’t know. A pregnant woman is a miracle of nature. One life, one easily definable personhood, slowly becomes two. The child doesn’t suddenly spring into existence at conception, but is created, day by day, week by week, month by month. An abortion stops a potential life. An abortion cuts short the path by which those little cells, that flicker of life becomes a human being. It is not a decision to be taken lightly – but neither is it a decision which anyone else can make.

I agree with you that abortion counselling should be independent, neutral and unbiased. However, I remain unconvinced that this is possible. What possible organisation is there which can be completely, perfectly independent around an issue such as this? The NHS, possibly, but they are firstly overloaded, secondly were designed as an all-round health provider rather than a specific pregnancy expert*, and thirdly appear to fall into the category of “abortion providers” with vested financial interests which you so strongly argue against.

Your amendment does not call for abortion counselling to be undertaken by groups with ideological or moral interests in abortion, but by concentrating on independence from those with supposed vested financial interests, it risks creating an opportunity for such groups to chip away at this fundamental issue. Furthermore, is there not a serious risk that rather than fewer abortions, the longer counselling period would simply result in later abortions?

I want neither the state nor the church to have any part in deciding what happens in my body, with my blood and my flesh. I am an individual, and the life growing inside me is a part of me.

Please, consider that your amendment may be a mistake.

Clara

* Such as the British Pregnancy Advisory Service.

About feminismfortories

Moderate Tory, Liberal Feminist. Based in the UK.
This entry was posted in Banning things and sexism, Foolish comments, Women in Parliament. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An open letter to Nadine Dorries

  1. Pingback: Letters to Nadine Dorries masterlist: what our wombs are up to « Another angry woman

  2. Great post on this issue – I’m very concerned abortion is becoming a political football in the UK in the same way it is in the US. Always enjoy reading your stuff.

  3. Great piece Clara, well done.

  4. Pingback: Masterlist « Dear Nadine Dorries

  5. stavvers says:

    Hi,
    Thanks so much for this, it means a lot. As there’s so many more blogs up now thanks to people like you, I’ve set up a blog to archive the letters to Dorries. I was wondering if you’d like yours to be hosted there?

    http://dearnadinedorries.wordpress.com/

    Thanks again,
    stavvers x

  6. Really enjoyed this post, straight to the point as always.

  7. Pingback: To Dorries, from Clara « Dear Nadine Dorries

Leave a Reply

