My own name

This summer, we’ve received quite a few wedding invitations.  It’s because we’re the right age for it – our wedding was two summers ago, and many of our coupled-off friends have followed suit.  And I’m very happy for all of them.

However, some of the invitations have been addressed to “Mr & Mrs His Whole Name”.

Whether a couple choose to take one surname, keep separate surnames or double-barrel their surnames is up to them. In my opinion (and clearly that of many of my newly-married friends) it’s less a matter of tradition than of aesthetics.  Equally, whether the women wishes to use “Mrs” or “Ms” is entirely up to her.

But there is nothing more ridiculous than the particular form of address which makes the woman vanish. I am not some little wife, hiding behind my husband’s name. I have my own first name. I have my own first initial. Use it.

About feminismfortories

Moderate Tory, Liberal Feminist. Based in the UK.
This entry was posted in About me, Banning things and sexism, Definitions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My own name

  1. Rumbold says:

    But there is nothing more ridiculous than the particular form of address which makes the woman vanish. I am not some little wife, hiding behind my husband’s name. I have my own first name. I have my own first initial. Use it.

    Agreed. Good piece.

Leave a Reply

